Not Good Enough For Gawker

Standard

The year was 2008. I had a job with a good computer, a little bit of seniority, and a lot of time on my hands.

I had money for pedicures, too!

Naturally, I spent a lot of time online. Mostly on Maya’s Mom (now BabyCenter Community), Facebook, and Gawker.

I liked Gawker. The posts took the news and filtered it through a new-to-me aesthetic, snark. Witty, sarcastic, and mean, Gawker said things that I would say on my blog, if I wasn’t so busy uploading pedicure pics. So instead of writing for Gawker, or for my damn self, I commented.

And waited. My comment never posted. I didn’t think much of it, until I made another comment. Reacting to Sarah Palin’s taking a crank call very seriously, I said “$150,000 on clothes and NONE ON CALLER ID?”

The next day, I got an email. I had been accepted into Gawker Media’s commentariat. Had I known I was auditioning, I would have worn something sparkly.

It was cool for a while. The Presidential race was in full swing, I had a lot to say. I always found myself looking over my virtual shoulder, every time I clicked “submit”. Could I lose my privileges for insufficient snark or bad spelling? Eventually I stopped commenting. I got tired of trying to keep up. I stopped thinking about the site altogether.

An email came from LinkedIn. For my own security, my account had been suspended. They’d found my email address on a list of addresses/passwords from Gawker’s hacked servers.

Gawker didn’t tell me about it until the next day. That irked me. I am still learning all the passwords I had to change. Of course, it’s my own fault. You’re supposed to use different strong passwords for every website. I do it now, but if the whiteboard on my fridge gets hacked, it’s OVER.

Anyway, I went back to Gawker. Changed my password, signed in. They had posted about the hacking situation. I tried to comment, and was told to audition. I’m sure they mean well. I’ve seen some gnarly comment sections. But I don’t know them like that. Do they want me to refrain from being ignorant/racist/a crappy speller, or refrain from saying things that don’t fit their worldview? Who knows?

And who cares? That’s what WordPress is for 🙂

2 thoughts on “Not Good Enough For Gawker

Leave a Reply

